Romantism 1800s, authors like William Wordsworth, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Victor

Romantism had a strong impact in literature in the 1800s, authors like William Wordsworth, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Victor Hugo, Herman Melville and so many more became famous and even became immortalized in history for their incredibly poetic stories. Amongst these authors, we have one of my personal favorites, Edgar Allan Poe. You might be thinking how Edgar Allan Poe is a romantic author, you are write to having this question; Poe’s stories are mainly about dark murders, deep guilt and characters falling deeply into madness. Thought Poe’s style of writing was dark and scary, move like the modern horror genre but romanticism doesn’t refer to love stories o princesses; it was “the sensibility and the use of autobiographical material, an exaltation of the primitive and the common man, an appreciation of external nature, an interest in the remote, a predilection for melancholy, and the use in poetry of older verse forms”. Romantisms was more poetic and appreciative of nature and the mistakes and natural actions of man; this description fits Poe’s style of literature. “The Fall of the House of Usher” is one of Poe’s most popular stories; the story of a man visiting an ill childhood friend, the uneasiness he feels in the big old house and the events that led up to the fall of the house but literally and figuratively is easily one of Poe’s best work. The question is. Does it fit the ideals of the romantic movement of the 18th century?There are several elements to the romantic style: gothic style, supernatural or unrealistic elements, symbolism, etc. To prove that “the fall of the house of usher is a romantisist work we have to see if the elements of the story watch the romantic style. This story was a distinct dark, gloomy mood; the uneasiness, unsafe scary feeling the author conveys to the reader. This fits the Gothic Romantic style that became popular during the romantic time. Poe, along with authors like Hawthorn, Wild and Stoker, are one of the primmest examples of this movement. The gothic movement consisted of stories with mysterious settings, like the house of Usher; death, or in this case premature burring; and exotic elements, like the location of the house of Usher. The supernatural and unrealistic elements to the story bring a uniqueness to the story. In romanticism, authors believed that imagination was a key element to creating a unique story, by bringing supernatural and unrealistic made their stories more memorable and popular. In “The Fall of the House of Usher” some examples of these supernatural elements: are the storm happening while Roderick dies, Madeline’s condition where she suddenly goes into a coma-like state, ending in her accidently being buried alive, and the fall of the House of Usher, both literally and figuratively.Another thing that really characterized romanticism was the focus in the individual, rejecting the rationalism that characterized it from the neoclassical period. Poe really seemed into the gothic ways with the macabre, mysterious and symbolical themes. Symbolism was a big element in Poe’s work. In “The Fall of the House of Usher” the narrator for example, mentions a fissure in the foundations of The Usher House. Not only is this literal as it results in the house falling apart by the end of the story, but also symbolically. The last children of the Usher family are flawed and rapidly decaying, just like the house; by the end their death causes the fall of the Usher House, its legacy.The undying, the noises, and Madeline’s breaking out of her tomb convey the essence of romanticism is, the use of symbols, myths, of fantastic elements as an expression of the narrator, or to convey deeper physiological themes; while him sensing “a pestilent and mystic vapor, dull, sluggish, faintly discernible and leaden-hued” leaking up from the decaying trees and the grey wall when seeing the house give a sense of supernatural foreshadowing. The character isolation and the little character development give you a sense on uneasiness, we know so little about the characters and there surrounding that we don’t feel comfortable and question their nature, making the future events a surprise.The time period of the story is a strong case in point, the book was published in 1839; time were poe’s mother had just passed. The dark and gloomy mood reflects how dark romantisms was supposed to feel like. The feelings Poe experienced during this time resonate to the uneasiness, scary and unsafe feeling that the story presents.The Fall of the House of Usher’s elemnts and composition, the gloom and mistery represent the prime elements that dark romanticism and gothic literature that made the genre so popularly acclaimed in its time. The way Edgar Allan Poe captured the gloom and darkness that he was going thruoght and portayed it un a supernatural story about death and the mystery of a haouse is truly a stape of the era. Till this day we can say that Edgar Allan Poe is one of the best authors of the romantic era and in my opinion one of the best authors in history, who gave us unforgettable stories that we will continue to read for ears on.